Home / Certifications

Good Manufacturing Practices:

The implementation and certification of good manufacturing practices based on the Food Codex show that the organization is committed to maintaining product safety.

The Food Codex is based on the implementation of controls such as pest control, waste management, facilities cleaning, personnel behavior and hygiene, GMP in facilities and glass and hard plastics control.


Is an international standard for the cane sugar industry that promotes successful sustainable producer communities as well as a reliable and secure supply chain.

Principles include adherence to the law, respect for human rights and labor standards, efficient operations management to achieve sustainability, actively manage biodiversity and the ecosystem, and continuous improvement of processes.

Magdalena es el primer ingenio en Guatemala en alcanzar la certificación de sostenibilidad Bonsucro.

FSSC 22000

The Food Safety Certification System FSSC 22000 is the certification scheme for Food Safety Management Systems using ISO 22000 international standards and the ISO 22002-1 technical specification (Prerequisite Programs). FSSC 22000, provides a comprehensive framework for organizations that operate in the food industry for the effective management of food security.

The FSSC 22000 certification has received full recognition from the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI). This certification guarantees that a company has a solid food safety management system, in order to obtain worldwide acceptance and recognition from food manufacturers and retail

FSSC 22000 provides organizations with a way to demonstrate, in an internationally accredited format, that it has a comprehensive management system that meets the food security requirements for customers and regulatory agencies.

This certification has been designed to cover all processes along the food chain that intervene directly or indirectly with any final product consumed in the food industry. The FSSC 22000 certification is designed to promote international harmonization and transparency in food safety standards at all levels of the food chain.

ISO 9001:2008

shows that the organization provides products that meet customer requirements.

This standard promotes the adoption of a process-based approach and continuous improvement based on the PDCA cycle (Plan, Do, Check, Act).

OHSAS 18001:2007

demonstrates that the organization is committed to preventing occupational incidents and illnesses.

This standard defines the requirements for implementing an occupational safety and health system based on controlling occupational hazards and the involvement of all personnel entering the organization.


Esta certificación es otorgada por Orthodox Union garantizando a la comunidad judía en todo el mundo que los productos de Magdalena cumplen con los requerimientos de las tradiciones religiosas de esta comunidad. Actualmente, se encuentra vigente respaldando los productos de Azúcar Estándar, Azúcar Refino y Alcohol al 96%.